Monday, May 7, 2012

All Four ACC LAX Squads In NCAA Tournament

All four ACC men’s lacrosse programs were among the 16 selected to compete in the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship. It marks the sixth-consecutive season in which all of the league’s teams have earned a bid.

Duke (13-4), which has reached the semifinals of the tournament the past five seasons, was selected as the No. 3 seed and will host Syracuse (9-7) at Koskinen Stadium at noon on Saturday, May 12, on ESPN. The game is a rematch from the regular season, with Duke winning 12-10 in East Rutherford, N.J. The Blue Devils will be making their sixth-consecutive and 16th overall appearance in the tournament where the program owns an all-time record of 22-14. Duke, the 2012 ACC Champion, won its only national title two years ago.

Fifth-seeded Virginia (11-3) will start its title defense when it welcomes Princeton (11-4) to Klöckner Stadium on Sunday, May 13, at 1 p.m on ESPN. The Cavaliers will be making their eighth-straight tournament appearance and 35th overall in the tournament. Virginia holds an all-time NCAA Tournament record of 47-29 and has won five championships.

North Carolina (11-5) grabbed the No. 8 seed and will play Denver at Fetzer Field on Saturday, May 12, at 7:30 p.m. on ESPNU. This is the 27th tournament appearance for the Tar Heels and the sixth straight. North Carolina has won four national titles in program history and has compiled a 27-22 mark in the tournament.

Maryland (9-5) will travel to Bethlehem, Pa., to play No. 7 Lehigh (14-2) on Sunday, May 13, at 7:30 p.m. on ESPNU. The Terrapins will be making their 35th appearance in the tournament and 10th straight, where they are 45-32. Maryland will be looking for its third national championship and first since 1975.

ACC teams have won the last two national championships and 12 overall.

The tournament gets underway May 12-13 at campus sites. The quarterfinals, played a week later on May 19-20, will be held in Annapolis, Md., and Philadelphia, Pa. Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass., will host the semifinals on May 26 and the finals on May 28.

For last weekend’s results and more, click here. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive