Thursday, April 19, 2012

Men’s All-ACC LAX Squad Announced

Six 2012 Tewaaraton Trophy nominees highlight this year’s All-ACC Men’s Lacrosse Team as announced today by the league office. The team is determined by a vote of the league’s four head coaches.

Maryland leads all conference teams with four players recognized. Junior midfielder Jesse Bernhardt, who is on the Tewaaraton Watch List, is joined by teammates John Haus, Joe Cummings and Niko Amato. Cummings and Amato both repeat as members of the All-ACC Team.

Duke, the top seed in this week’s ACC Championship, has three players recognized. Senior midfielder CJ Costabile and sophomore attackman Jordan Wolf were both named to the All-ACC team last year, and they are joined by senior midfielder Robert Rotanz.

Virginia is represented by Steele Stanwick, Colin Briggs, and Chris LaPierre, all of whom are on the Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List. It is the third All-ACC honor for Stanwick, the reigning Tewaaraton winner, and the second for Briggs and LaPierre.

BERNHARDT #36 (John Strohsacker/
North Carolina junior attackman Marcus Holman, who ranks second in the conference with 3.77 points per game, is named to the All-ACC Team for the second straight year. The 2010 ACC Freshman of the Year has tallied 23 goals and 26 assists in 13 games played this season.

The 2012 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship gets underway Friday with the semifinals at 5 and 7:30 p.m. at Klöckner Stadium at the University of Virginia. Both games can be seen on ESPNU. Midfield

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive