Sunday, March 11, 2012

Five ACC Teams Go Dancing

Five ACC mens' basketball team received invitations to the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament.

ACC regular season champion North Carolina is the #1 seed in the Midwest. The bracket includes Kansas as the #2 seed.  Roy Williams coached at Kansas for 15 years and the Jayhawks clobbered the Tar Heels in the 2008 Final Four.  The #3 seed in UNC’s bracket is Georgetown.

Duke is the #2 seed in the South, setting up a potential rematch of the classic game with Kentucky that was won by Christian Laettner with “The Shot.”  UNLV who has a history with Duke in the Final Four is also in the bracket. Baylor is the #3 seed in the South.

Florida State’s tough win in today’s ACC tournament championship game impressed the Selection Committee as the Seminoles, who were ranked #17 going into the game against North Carolina, came out with a #3 seed in the East meaning the Committee ranked them one of the top 12 teams in the country.  Syracuse is #1 and Ohio State is the #3 seed in the region.

Virginia landed the #10 seed in the West and the Wahoos drew a tough first round match-up in Florida.

N.C. State was the last team announced on the CBS selection show, but the Wolfpack will enter the Big Dance as a the #11 seed in the Midwest bracket with their old friends from Chapel Hill. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive