Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Seven ACC Squads Headed To NCAA Baseball Tournament

Seven Atlantic Coast Conference teams - including three of the top five national seeds - will be among the 64-team field when the 2011 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship gets under way with Regional play on Friday.

ACC Champion Virginia holds the No. 1 overall national seed in the tournament, while North Carolina is seeded third and Florida State fifth.

Virginia (49-9), Florida State (42-17), Clemson (41-18) Georgia Tech (40-19) and North Carolina (45-14) were named as regional host schools by the NCAA on Sunday, giving the ACC a national-best five Regional hosts. Each of those teams will be seeded No. 1 in their brackets.

Miami (36-21) and NC State (34-25) were also among the complete field of 64 teams announced on Monday, bringing the ACC's total representation to seven teams. Miami will open play at Gainesville, Fla., in the regional hosted by the University of Florida, while NC State will compete in the Columbia, S.C., regional hosted by defending NCAA Champion South Carolina. Miami holds a No. 2 bracket seed, while NC State is seeded third.

The seven ACC teams selected to this year's NCAA field matches the SEC for the most from any conference.   This marks the 10th straight year that at least five ACC teams have been selected for NCAA postseason play.

To see the full schedule, click here

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive