Thursday, December 2, 2010

Really Good FSU Lineman Wins A Trophy For Blocking

Who knew?

Florida State’s Rodney Hudson has been awarded the 2010 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced Sunday. In doing so, Hudson, who also captured the award in 2009, becomes one of just 11 players in ACC history to be a two-time recipient of the Jacobs Trophy.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player voted the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945.

Hudson totaled 23 points, including six first-place votes, in the balloting by the coaches to outdistance Boston College senior offensive tackle Anthony Costanzo (13), Miami senior offensive tackle Orlando Franklin (12) and Clemson senior offensive tackle Chris Hairston (10) to claim his second straight Jacobs Trophy.

One of three finalists for this year’s prestigious Outland Trophy, Hudson, a 6-2, 282-pound senior from Mobile, Ala., is one of seven players in ACC history to be honored four times with All-ACC honors.

(Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive