Tuesday, April 6, 2010


What media and fans have consistently called a sub-par season for the ACC, has ended...with another NCAA Championship - the league's fifth since 2001.

(Do the math, that's five (Duke, Maryland, UNC, UNC, Duke) of the last ten so don't try to tell us how the Big East or any other conference is better.)

Duke's big three shook off a poor shooting performance (for them) and a second half scoring drought (two field goals in the last 7:58 of the game) to hold off plucky, Hoosieresque mid-major darling Butler 61-59 to capture Coach Mike Kʂɨˈʐɛ(f)ski's fourth national championship.

Kyle Singler scored 19 points, Jon Scheyer added 15 and Nolan Smith 13. All three made the all-tournament team, and Singler was selected the most outstanding player at the Final Four. Brain Zoubek also made a number of key plays.

More later.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive