Wednesday, March 10, 2010


Adding insult to a season of injury, for first time since the ACC was formed in 1954, North Carolina (16-15, 5-11 ACC) does not have a single player on the All-ACC team.

The league had first- and second-team All-ACC selections from 1954-89 and added a third team beginning in 1990. The closest UNC previously had come to not making the cut was in 2002, when it finished 8-20 and Jason Capel was the last player chosen on the third team. In 2003, freshman Raymond Felton was the second-to-last player chosen on the third team.
Miami was also shut out.

The first team is pretty darn obvious.

FIRST TEAM: Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (159), Jon Scheyer, Duke (159), Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech (159), Trevor Booker, Clemson (137) and Kyle Singler, Duke (134).

SECOND TEAM: Al-Farouq Aminu, Wake Forest (126), Nolan Smith, Duke (104), Sylven Landesberg, Virginia (95), Tracy Smith, N.C. State (82) and Ishmael Smith, Wake Forest (76) .

THIRD TEAM: Gani Lawal, Georgia Tech (73), Dorenzo Hudson, Virginia Tech (51), Chris Singleton, Florida State (50), Joe Trapani, Boston College (38) and Solomon Alabi, Florida State (30)

ALL-ROOKIE TEAM: Derrick Favors, Georgia Tech (52), Jordan Williams, Maryland (51), Durand Scott, Miami (44), C.J. Harris, Wake Forest (41) and Michael Snaer, Florida State (35).

ALL-DEFENSIVE TEAM: Chris Singleton, Florida State (48), Solomon Alabi, Florida State (39), Trevor Booker, Clemson (21), Lance Thomas, Duke (17) and L.D. Williams, Wake Forest (16).

Tar Heels sophomore forward Ed Davis, who broke his left wrist halfway through the conference season, was the closest to making the grade – he earned 17 points, placing him 18th among the 29 players who got votes from the ACC media. Senior Deon Thompson, the team’s leading scorer, earned six points total.

When informed, Thompson, as he is wont to do, promptly disappeared.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive