Tuesday, June 2, 2009


We didn’t. In fact, we couldn’t figure out the NCAA baseball tournament with it’s Austin Regional and Fort Worth Regional – aren’t they in the same region?

Then there was the Super Regional – are there more of them or are they just bigger – followed by the College World Series. We thought the whole thing was the CWS…

So…we figured it out. We think...

The first round of the NCAA baseball tournament has 64 teams just like the Big Dance. The first round is broken down into 16 regionals with four teams each. Each regional is a mini-double elimination tournament. Only one team advances to the second round – the Sweet Sixteen or the Super Regional as they say in college baseball.

The Super Regional is a best of three game series, with the eight winners advancing to the College World Series which is a double elimination tournament utilizing the best of three series format.

Got it?

The ACC fielded seven teams who went 19-7 in the first round. North Carolina, the #4 seed in the tournament, advanced to the second round as did Florida State, Clemson and Virginia. Georgia Tech, Maimi and Boston College (who was eliminated in a record-breaking 25 inning game – the longest NCAA baseball game ever to #1 overall seed Texas) went home.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive