Monday, May 4, 2009


All four ACC teams were among the 16 selected to compete in the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship as announced Sunday. Virginia, Duke, North Carolina and Maryland will compete for national championship beginning with first-round games on Saturday and Sunday, May 9 & 10.

For the men’s bracket, click here.

Not to be outdone, all four women’s lax teams from the same schools will compete in the women’s tournament as well. For the women’s bracket, click here.

No. 1 Virginia will play Villanova on Sunday, May 10 at 2:30 p.m. ACC champion Duke earned the No. 3 seed and will face Navy on Saturday, May 9 at 7:30 p.m. North Carolina claimed the No. 3 seed and will play host to UMBC on Saturday, May 9 at 2:30 p.m. Maryland travels to No. 7 Notre Dame for a Sunday, May 10 game at noon. Each of the four games will be televised on ESPNU.

The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts, May 23-25. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at noon Eastern time, May 23. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time, May 25.

The championship hosts are Harvard University and the Eastern College Athletic Conference. This is one of only two NCAA team sports, along with women's rowing, that holds the championships of all three divisions at a common site.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive