Tuesday, April 28, 2009


Senior Mike Catalino and freshman C.J. Costabile both recorded hat tricks to lead the defending champion Blue Devils to their third straight Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Lacrosse Championship. Duke held off a determined North Carolina team, 15-13, on Sunday afternoon at Kenan Stadium in Chapel Hill, N.C. to once again land the Jon “Chainsaw” Bierman Perpetual Trophy.

Duke, ranked No. 6 in the latest Inside Lacrosse and USILA polls, captured its sixth ACC crown and improved to 12-3 on the year with the win. North Carolina slips to 11-5 overall.

“What a difficult tournament to play and win in three days,” said Duke head coach John Danowski. “We just think the world of Carolina. We’ve played them now seven times in the past three years and every game is a battle and every game is 60 minutes up and down.”

The Blue Devils feature the Tournament’s Most Valuable Player Costabile and the 2009 ACC Player of the Year Ned Crotty.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive