Monday, July 28, 2008


UNC’s Tyler Hansbrough and Virginia Tech softball pitcher Angela Tincher, two individuals who earned national player-of-the-year honors while leading their teams to ACC championships and strong contention for national titles, are the 2008 Atlantic Coast Conference Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

Hansbrough receives the "Anthony J. McKevlin Award" as the league's top male performer. That award, named in honor of the former sports editor of the Raleigh News & Observer, has been presented since the formation of the ACC in 1954.

Tincher is recipient of the "Mary Garber Award," named for the former Winston-Salem Journal reporter and a pioneer for women in the field of sports journalism. That award was established in 1990 to honor the league's top female athlete.
The consensus national player-of-the-year, Hansbrough also earned ACC Player of the Year, ACC Tournament MVP and NCAA Regional MVP honors (only the fourth individual in ACC history to receive all four honors in the same season). He averaged 22.6 points per game, the most by a Tar Heel since

Tincher, the USA Softball National Player of the Year and Honda Award recipient as the top player in her sport, led the Hokies to their first-ever Women's College World Series appearance while ranking first nationally in both strikeouts and earned run average.

She was also named the ESPN the Magazine Academic All-American of the Year in softball, graduating with a 3.84 grade point average as a finance major.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive