Tuesday, June 10, 2008


UNC, Miami and Florida State are heading to the College World Series

UNC’s Adam Warren threw six innings of two-hit ball, Dustin Ackley drove in three runs and North Carolina beat Coastal Carolina 14-4 on Sunday to win the Cary Super Regional and reach the College World Series for the third straight year. The Tar Heels have lost in the finals the past two years.

Further down south, Jack Rye's three-run homer capped a six-run first inning in Tallahassee, Fla., as Florida State reached the College World Series for the first time since 2000 with a victory over Wichita State 11-4. The Seminoles (54-12), who have never won the national title, are headed back to the CWS for the 13th time in coach Mike Martin's 29 seasons.

“Over” Yonder Alonso homered and Enrique “Jerry” Garcia pitched six effective innings as Miami defeated Arizona in Coral Gables, Fla., to advance to the Series for the 23rd time.

Unfortunately, NC State's bid to earn the second College World Series berth in school history ended early Sunday afternoon, as nine of Georgia's first 10 batters scored in the bottom of the first inning of a 17-8 Bulldog victory.

North Carolina State right fielder Devon Cartwright can't reach a ball hit for a home run by Georgia's Ryan Peisel in the seventh inning of an NCAA Super Regional baseball game. (AP Photo/John Bazemore)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive