Tuesday, April 22, 2008


Florida State claimed its first ACC Men's Golf Championship on Sunday with a three-stroke win over Duke at the 2008 ACC Men's Golf Championship played at the Old North State Club at Uwharrrie Point. Three Seminoles finished in the top 10, led by Jonas Blixt and Matthew Savage who tied for third at eight-under (208).

FSU head coach Trey Jones was pleased with his team's effort and consistency. "We kept with it. We kept staying with it and staying with it. We didn't take nine holes off, we never lost focus; we stayed in it. I'm proud of our guys."

Tournament play concluded just before dusk after a two hour and 18 minute rain delay that began just before 1 p.m.

Wake Forest's Webb Simpson set the championship record with a 202 in his three rounds, after shooting this year's best round to finish play on Sunday, a six-under 66. North Carolina's Chase MacFarland was second at 207, as one of two players shooting a 67 in the final round. The other was Georgia Tech's David Dragoo who helped ignite the Yellow Jackets' 13-under par performance in the final round.

FSU long-time football head coach(?) Bobby “No, I’m Not Older Than Joe Paterno” Bowden said, “It’s about doggone time we won a dadblame championship in sumpin."

"Who’s this Jimbo-Jumbo guy who’s always hangin’ around my office?”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive