Wednesday, January 23, 2008


Boston College senior quarterback Matt Ryan is the winner of the 2008 Manning Award, presented by the Sugar Bowl.

The Manning Award was created by the Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that considers the candidate's bowl performance. The award is voted on by a panel of local and national media, as well as each of the Mannings. Florida's Tim Tebow finished second.

Ryan completed just over 59 percent of his passes (388 of 654) for 4,507 yards with 31 touchdowns. He led the Eagles to an 11-3 record, their highest win total since 1940.

Ryan, who was a first-team all-Atlantic Coast Conference selection and the conference's Offensive Player of the Year, led BC to a No. 2 BCS ranking as the Eagles began the season with eight straight wins.

(Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive