Friday, January 18, 2008


Kansas coach Mark Mangino won the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award on Thursday as the college football coach of the year.

He deserved it.

"I'm honored to win Coach Bryant's award," said Mangino, who coached the Jayhawks to an 12-1 record and a win in the Orange Bowl. "It's a reflection on the people who made our program great, the players, the assistant coaches and others in the school.

Mangino was also the AP's coach of the year and won the Eddie Robinson Award handed out by the Football Writers Association of America.

Kansas set school records for wins in a season and highest ranking, when Kansas was ranked No. 2 in the nation in November.

The Jayhawks were among the nation's top teams in scoring offense, total offense, scoring defense and total defense and led the nation in fewest penalties and turnover margin.

Mangino took the award over seven finalists including Les Miles, who coached LSU to the national championship, Missouri's Gary Pinkel and Frank Beamer of Virginia Tech.

The Bryant award is chosen by the National Sportscasters Association in conjunction with the American Heart Association.

Like we said, ironic.

(AP Photos/David J. Phillip and Steve Helber)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive