Thursday, November 29, 2007


A Wake Forest program that relies on patient red-shirting and fifth-year seniors has suddenly produced two consecutive ACC rookies of the year.

Running back Josh Adams is the latest freshman standout for the Demon Deacons, joining last year's winner, quarterback Riley Skinner, in a backfield that could have coach Jim Grobe's misdirection offense clicking for years to come.

Adams - also the league's overwhelming offensive rookie of the year - received 51 of a possible 71 votes in balloting conducted by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. North Carolina quarterback T.J. Yates was second with 12 votes, followed by Virginia Tech quarterback Tyrod Taylor (5). How Taylor got fewer votes that Yates mystifies TAH.

UNC's Deunta Williams was the defensive rookie of the year, receiving 48 votes. Teammate Charles Brown was voted first on nine ballots, followed by Virginia's Ras-I Dowling (5), Georgia Tech's Morgan Burnett (3), Austin (2) and N.C. State's Markus Kuhn (2).

(Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive